Exhaustion

I have to admit that while I was in grad school, I always had time to exercise. I worked as an assistant coach for the cross country team and I was able to run with the girls I coached. It fit so neatly into my day that I didn’t realize how much more difficult it was to fit in exercise without that built-in time.  I’m now a professor with a 45 minute commute each way and let me tell you that exercise is a whole different ball game now. I get up around 6:15 and I’m out the door at 7. I work until 5 and get home at 6 and even though I have done little but sit and walk a bit during the day, I am EXHAUSTED! I had no idea how tiring the 8-5 grind can be, even when it involves little to no physical activity. I come home at six and the only thing I want to do is sit on the couch and eat! I suddenly am incredibly sypathetic to everyone who has always said that they are just too tired to exercise. So, what do we do? I thought up a few different solutions and I’m going to try them out in the coming weeks.

1. Allow myself to sit for one hour on the couch and eat. I know that all my willpower will be completely gone and promising that I will exercise immediately after work when I am starving and tired is an exercise in futility. I figure I’ll give in for an hour, but to ensure that I don’t sink into a television-induced stupor, I’m going to set an alarm. It will ring after an hour an insist that I get up and exercise.

2. Try to make exercise enjoyable. I am a runnner, which means that there is some part of me that thinks the only worthwhile exercise is running and anything else is just cheating. Unfortunately, I kind of hate running. It takes huge amounts of willpower for me to leave my comfortable couch and go outside to push myself that hard. I need to remember that I can get all the benefits of exercise without having to work so hard. Kevin (my husband) and I love to play tennis, and we definitely work up a sweat doing that. I could also just go for a brisk walk for 45 min to an hour and burn several hundred calories. Remember that doing anything is always better than doing nothing!

3. Exercise in the mornings. Sigh. I am dreading trying this one out. I hate the mornings and 6:15 is early enough as it is. But, I figure if I wake up at 6, and just go run for 25 minutes, I can still make it to work on time. We’ll see how well I do on this one.

I will keep you all posted on how my battle with exhaustion is going! Try some of these out yourself and let me know how they work!

Do you have any tricks or tips on how you stay motivated to exercise?

Thanks!

Sara

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rick Omanson on August 31, 2011 at 12:47 am

    I look forward to exercising, but I cheat. We have a mini-tramp in front of the TV, so before I go to bed, I treat myself to watching a part of some action movie while I bounce. Since I don’t otherwise watch TV, it is a nice escape (even if it isn’t relaxing).

    The only drawback is as the movie progresses, I get more interested in the plot. When the exciting scenes occur, my bouncing turns into more of a dribble.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Catherine on September 8, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    I can’t sit for an hour after work – I will never leave my house again! I have learned that the only way I MAY possibly even consider going to the gym is if I immediatly put on my gym clothes and sneakers as soon as I get home from work. Then once they are on I feel like I have to go before anything else distracts me. Plus I went to all the effort of throwing on my t-shirt, shorts and sneakers I might as well go to the gym! Great blog guys!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • That’s definitely a good tip. Inertia is hard to overcome and I learned this week while trying out my own tips that once I’m on the couch, it is sooo hard to peel myself back off!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

