Man vs Wife

A few years ago I was at my in-laws home for Easter and they always put on an Easter egg hunt. Everyone is assigned a color and an equal amount of eggs are placed strategically throughout their yard. My wife has always been the champion egg hunter in her family, or at least so she claims. She also isn’t shy about hiding the fact that she wins not just this Easter egg hunt but most family games.  That was before I was on the scene.  Easter in Chicago is beyond cold and snow is always in abundance, but we put as much wintery layers on as we could find and proceeded to the starting line. Off we went in a mad dash and I soon realized why my wife always beat her siblings; they were more than happy to walk and reminisce about years past enjoying each other’s company while my wife competed with an intensity that few NFL defensive linemen can muster. So I, in turn, followed suit.

My lack of knowledge of the battle field terrain was quite evident from the start. Sara knew all the hotspots and I was lost, which she was not shy about pointing out at every chance she got. I knew I needed to level the playing field, so I found one of her eggs and stole it. She could not win if she never found her last egg. We all beat her, and when she found out I cheated in a nostalgic family Easter egg hunt, it quickly turned into what can only be described as a Blitzkrieg of snow balls hurtling at my face.

 I tell you this story not solely as an amusing anecdote but to show just how competitive my wife and I are. We compete at everything. Our competitions have ranged from something as simple as an evening yatzee game after dinner to doughnut eating competition. We use our competitive nature as drive for our healthy life. There are many ways in which one of us clearly has an obvious advantage, whether its strength, speed or agility. This never deters whichever one of us is holding the short end of stick. One of our work outs that best illustrates our drives to push each other is repeat 400 meter sprints, but the trick is that only one of us runs at a time, like a relay.  The person not running only gets to rest however long it takes the other one to finish their sprint. I seem to internalize in my mind when my wife runs a faster split thinking she is trying to give me less rest so I in turn am pushed to try and inflict the same to her. It’s not just in running; we do it in everything.  If its weight lifting we see who is lifting more compared to their body weight. We do it with sit ups, pushups, tennis. We take our competitive nature and turn it into a tool that both of us benefit from.  So try and find a sport or game that involves physical activity and turn it into a competition. We find this to be a great way to raise the intensity level in our routine.

Kevin

Leave a Reply

