Change

As I took out another slice of pizza and dunked in to a nuke warm jar of nacho cheese, I then proceeded to gorge myself while drinking at least 3 beers. I looked over at my wife who was staring at me with her mouth open. We then began a discussion on what is a “healthy life style”.

I have always been skinny; from my senior year on I have been 6.2’and around 150-160 pounds, my waist never exceeded a 32. In high school I ran up to 60 miles a week, with never more than 2 weeks off a year. Then I entered the Marine Corps where I served as a firefighter, rescue technician, water survival instructor, drill instructor and martial arts instructor. During my eight years in the Corps I regularly worked out every morning, I have always scored a perfect 300 point score on the Corps’s physical fitness test. I took this as a blank check to eat what ever I wanted. I thought I knew what I was consuming vs. what I was expending in physical activities. Turns out, if you eat 4,000 calories a day, burning off 800 really isn’t going to cut it. Plus, my wife pointed out that I was putting myself at risk for heart disease and diabetes, which runs in my family. My wife argument was clear and based on sound, provable fact… mine was, well not. So I agreed to change my eating habits, my change was slow!

At first it started with making my own meals, adding vegetables and not dunking pizza in nacho cheese. I would say my transition started 3 years ago, and over time I have completely changed how I eat. I can go through a bag of spinach a week all by my self, I make almost every meal my wife and I eat. I try to use only fresh ingredients and I do most of the shopping. Candy bars have been replaced with granola bars or just loose granola. Sugary cereals have turned into eggs with spinach or oatmeal. While I will admit that my habits aren’t perfect they are now far superior to what they used to be. My weight remains unchanged, but they way I feel and the recovery process from my exercise has skyrocketed. I have never felt this good. I wish that I had started my new eating habits many years back. I share this story not to brag, but to share my experience. I looked healthy so there for I thought I was healthy.

If you or someone you know falls into this category I would enjoy hearing from you! Feel free to post a comment. Kevin

Leave a Reply

