Inspiration

So, just to keep you all updated, my crazy runner friend Britta has
decided to do what I consider the craziest run she’s tackled yet; a 24
hour race. Basically, all the runners have 24 hours to cover as much
distance as possible and whoever runs the farthest wins. Some people
are moving the whole time, but everyone takes little breaks for
eating, drinking and peeing (I hope!). Here’s what’s really crazy though… I’ve
decided to do it with her! Now, I may have some running experience,
but the longest I have ever run is 22 miles and that was 4 years ago.
I have four months to get my butt in shape to run for a very, very long
time. Why might I be doing this? Well, bragging rights, for starters.
How many people do you know who have run for 24 hours? (or at least
attempted) Also, I love my friend and her husband and will use any
excuse to go out and see them, even if it entails running until my
legs fall off. But the most important reason, the thing that actually
get me out the door every evening is this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This picture was taken just after she Britta successfully completed a
marathon in a great time. I took one look at that picture and thought,
“now that’s who I want to be!” I love the feeling of being proud of
yourself after you’ve done something incredibly difficult, and I miss
that sense of identity that being a competitive runner brings. When I
look at that photo, it makes me feel that this goal accomplishable;
that there is tangible proof I can change my life to be more like
that.
I mentioned a few blogs ago about goal setting, and how you are
significantly more likely to achieve your goals if you write them down
and post them somewhere you can see them. So, here is my goal. Right
now I want to train to be able to run 3 hours at a time, instead of
the 1 hour I’m at now. Here is a picture of my goal, right next to my
desk at work, and next to it is my inspiration.

What are your goals? Have you ever used a photo as a source of inspiration?

-Sara

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Britta Hanel on September 27, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Oh my gosh. Flattered. Can’t wait for the brutality to begin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

