Make this, Dont buy that!

The last installment of this, I tackled some of my favorite drinks. This week I have chosen to address my absolute favorite meal:  a burger and French fries. There is something just American about this combination of red meat and potatoes, and I know I couldn’t live the rest of my life without eating a burger. Knowing what effects this diet can have on my body, I have come up with this healthier alternative recipe.  Enjoy!

  • 3 pounds ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup finely diced onion
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Mix all of the ingredients together and grill to your own desired temperature.  Add any toppings you choose just know that adding cheese will increase the fat content. In my own I add a little sliced jalapeño for spice.

 

For the potatoes I simply slice them as thin as possible put a light coat of olive oil on them and cover them with some seasoning, anything will do. I prefer Montreal steak seasoning to add to the flavor. Put them on a cookie sheet and place in oven at 400 for about 15-20 minutes and enjoy. I try to add a side salad of spinach for more color and a beer!

 

 

 

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hey guys,

    I make turkey burgers and oven fries regularly for myself and J. Sweet potato fries are, in my opinion, even better, and they taste just as good without added starch, sugar and wheat coating that cover the ones they sell in the store or have at most restaurants. J loves the burgers, and I am less scared of him dropping dead from a heart attack due to too many bacon cheeseburgers. 🙂

    K

    Reply

Leave a Reply

