Achieving Your Goals

My friend after she finished a marathon

So, if you have been reading here for awhile, you may remember that I have been training for a crazy race on New Years called the Across the Years 24 hour run. It’s basically an ultra-marathon; you have 24 hours to cover as much distance as possible and the person who runs the farthest wins. My friend has been training for years for these types of races, but I have only been training for a few months. My goal was to be able to run at least three hours all at once before I left for the race. I got awfully close this past weekend!

I ran 20.5 miles in 2 hours and 43 minutes, which is faster than I thought I could do. It isn’t quite three hours, but over 20 miles, so that’s something! One thing I did to keep me motivated during the training was to keep my goal posted by my computer at work. Every day, I saw a picture of my incredible friend who has completed several 50 mile races sitting right next to a notecard that read 3 hours. I was reminded of my goal everyday. Achieving a tough goal has much more to do with the decisions you make everyday rather than just summing up an incredible amount of willpower one time. I had to daily make the choice to run or I could never be prepared to run 30 or 40 miles at the race. You all may have some similar goals; if you want to lose weight, you can’t just starve yourself for a week and eat whatever you want the rest of your life. You have to daily make a choice to eat well and exercise, and the weight will slowly come off.

The best advice I can give you about how to achieve your goal is to write it down in a place that you and your friends can see it everyday. The reason most of us don’t achieve our goals is that we either forget about them or believe we can’t achieve them. If you write your goal down, you will be reminded to keep pressing on and making those little choiced everyday to accomplish your goal. And, if you display your goal where your friends can see it, they can encourage you and make sure you keep believing in your ability to achieve it.  

I know this is about the time of year when we all start setting New Year’s resolutions; especially resolutions to be healthier. If you are trying to eat more vegetables, lose weight, or exercise more in the new year, we want to invite you to post your goals here! We can encouage you to keep at it, and you will be part of a community that can hold you accountable.

I will keep you all updated on my race and bring you pictures!

-Sara

2 responses to this post.

  1. This has a lot of useful information – read away!

    Reply

  2. Hey guys,

    My hope for this new year is to find relief from pain and achieve health balance in my life. it is a tall order, but now that I finally have some answers regarding my severe digestive difficulty, I have a plan. My little goals are something like this:

    Practice mindful eating (actually sit down, chew at least 10 times per bite, breathe deeply and focus only on tasting my food and being nourished):

    Spend one night a week preparing all of my meals and putting them in individual portion sizes in the freezer so that I am always prepared.

    Walk every day.

    Sip water all day to improve my hydration.

    Keep up with my physical therapy exercises.

    Breathe through the pain.

    Don’t give up.

    -K

    Reply

Leave a Reply

