Make This, Don’t Buy That: Pizza

Quick update: I, Sara, did finish my 24 hour ultra! I ran 56 miles, which was 6 over my goal! It was an incredible experience, and as soon as I get back home, I’ll give you all the run-down and some photos!

In this next installment of make this not that, I have decided to make a pizza. This is my all time favorite food. If I could, I would it eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With that being said, I don’t for obvious health reasons. This pizza recipe is the healthiest I have found with out sacrificing flavor. Enjoy!

 

 

INGREDIENTS

 1 teaspoon olive oil  

1 cup chopped onion

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 3/4 cups canned crushed tomatoes  

1/8 teaspoon salt  

1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

1 (10-ounce) can refrigerated pizza crust dough

Cooking spray

2 cups chopped skinned cooked turkey

1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded provolone cheese

1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese  

 

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400°.

Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; sauté 4 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, salt, and pepper; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer 15 minutes or until thick, stirring occasionally. Stir in parsley and basil. Remove from heat. Cool completely.

Roll dough into a 10-inch circle on a lightly floured surface. Place dough on a (12-inch) pizza pan or baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Crimp edges of dough with fingers to form a rim.

Spread tomato mixture over crust, leaving a 1/4-inch border. Top with turkey; sprinkle with cheeses. Bake at 400° for 10 minutes or until golden.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] good.  There is no way you’re reaching over the extra large pizza for goat cheese salad. Try my healthy pizza recipe or make it a pasta salad and chalk it up to carbo loading. The next trick, and probably the best, is […]

    Reply

  2. […] good.  There is no way you’re reaching over the extra large pizza for goat cheese salad. Try my healthy pizza recipe or make it a pasta salad and chalk it up to carbo loading. The next trick, and probably the best, is […]

    Reply

  3. […] good.  There is no way you’re reaching over the extra large pizza for goat cheese salad. Try my healthy pizza recipe or make it a pasta salad and chalk it up to carbo loading. The next trick, and probably the best, is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

