Make This, Don’t Buy That: Southwest Taco Soup

This week’s installment of Make This, Don’t Buy That is Southwest Taco Soup.  Being that I live in south Texas, Mexican food is everywhere. I love Mexican food, but the only problem is that everything I love happens to be drizzled with queso and served with chips! Not really what I had envisioned for my diet. So I have taken it upon myself to find a recipe that fulfills my craving, but lends a hand to my waist line. So instead of a Nacho Bell Grande (700 Calories, 42 grams of fat) try this soup. Now I will say that there is no meat in this recipe (I am in no way a vegan, and feel free to add low fat ground turkey or chicken if you like), but this recipe is truly excellent. Enjoy!

 Ingredients:

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cans black beans

1 can corn

1 med onion – chopped

2 cloves garlic

2 jalapenos – seeded and chopped

1 can vegetable broth

2 teaspoons cumin

 

Garnish: chopped cilantro, plain yogurt, lime

 Prep:

In vegetable oil brown chopped garlic, chopped jalapeno, chopped onion, corn and cumin for 3-5 min. Add tomatoes, beans and vegetable broth. Cook until soup is heated (about 5-10 min). Add water/broth to adjust.

Let me know how you like it!

-Kevin

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joan Frey on January 13, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    This sounds good! Can’t wait to try it. Thanks, Kevin.
    Joan

    Reply

  2. Posted by V Kahn on February 15, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Drain the canned beans or not?
    I’m guessing drain the corn too.
    Excited readers are waiting to know!
    thanks

    Reply

    • Yes, I drained them both. You can always vary the consistency by adding more or less broth. If you use crushed tomatoes instead of diced, it will be a little more like tomato soup, if that’s what you like!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

