Kettle Bell Workout

Kevin with a kettlebell.... Just kidding! Image actually from http://www.kettlebell.com

Maybe it’s the fact that it is nothing more than a cannon ball with a handle, or because the Russian commando’s used them religiously, but when you swing a kettle bell you feel like one bad dude. The history and lineage of kettle bells in exercise equipment is vague, but it hast to be around the time the bow and arrow came to be. Recently there has been a mass rejuvenation in adding them to your exercise routine. Most of this comes from the popularity of Cross Fit (who uses them quite regularly) and other “Functional Fitness” routines. I love them!

I first got introduced to a kettle bell about 10 years ago, and instantly knew it was a workout I could get on board with. The most popular exercise hands-down is the snatch or a kettle bell swing. Basically you hold it with one or two hands and do a partial sumo squat and thrust your hips and raise the weight to eye height or higher and repeat. A few repetitions doesn’t really feel like much. In fact the first time I used one I did about 100 reps with only a little fatigue and put it down thinking that there wasn’t really much to these weights, but then I woke up the next morning and couldn’t get out of bed because my core was so sore. The best part is that there are about 20-30 different variations of just the snatch; you can add a shoulder press or swing with one hand and switch mid air or even flip it and catch it mid air and it’s a whole new exercise.

We all want the fix all; cure all exercise and all though I don’t think it exists. This one is pretty close though; cardio and explosive strength all with one simple weight makes a kettle bell a great piece of equipment to throw into your weekly routine. When you go to your local gym I suggest you start off light if you haven’t ever done this before. 20lbs is plenty to start off with. Now because this weight and its design is from Russia some kettle bells still use the pood which is close to the metric system so a 16 pood is 35 pounds. I just throw this in there are actually quite common and that is how Cross Fit lists them on their web site. If you have ever had a back or shoulder injury you may want to take a pass on this one, they put a lot of demand on those two particular body parts and require a lot of lifting with bending and movement (not highly recommended if you have ever thrown out your back before).

Here’s a great video demonstrating the basics of kettle bells. It’s an awesome workout if you don’t have a gym to go to, and a nice break from the ordinary. Have you guys ever used kettle bells? What do you think?

-Kevin

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Miss. Zoe on April 6, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    I have just recently [Monday] started exercising again. I eat a very healthy diet, but I smoked a pack of ciggarettes day. I almost died Monday, The soreness wasn’t even bothering me but I could barely breath my lungs and chest hurt so much and I haven’t had a cigarette since. I did a TRX class this morning and had so much fun! Its such a challenge. And I love knowing I’m taking care of myself. I want to try kettle bells next!

    Reply

  2. […] I first got introduced to a kettle bell about 10 years ago, and instantly knew it was a workout I could get on board with. The most popular exercise hands-down is …losingtogether.com/2012/04/06/kettle-bell-workout/ […]

    Reply

  3. […] I first got introduced to a kettle bell about 10 years ago, and instantly knew it was a workout I could get on board with. The most popular exercise hands-down is …losingtogether.com/2012/04/06/kettle-bell-workout/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

