The Farmers Market

When my wife and I go to the grocery store, it is a constant struggle. We have no problem grabbing the usual items; organic yogurt, low fat string cheese, lots of fruits and vegetables and pistachios. The problem always seems to arise when it comes down to what we are going to eat for dinner. I’ll just come out and say it; I need meat at dinner to feel like I am actually eating a meal.

To me there is something truly fulfilling about meat that no amount of legumes, nuts or tofu could ever fill. Maybe it is genetic or just because that is how I was raised but some form of meat is the epicenter of dinner and everything else is an add on. The dilemma that my wife and I face is just how horrible store bought meat is for you; from antibiotics to pink slime there seems to be nothing truly nutritious about it. On top of all that the few organic or “healthier” options are so unreasonably priced that we don’t want to buy them.

Luckily we have found a simple and affordable solution.  We finally were able to find a farmers market less than a mile away from our house. They have a wide assortment of items to replace what we usually purchased from a grocery store. The best part of is that instead of trying to read a label and guess what “grass-fed diet” really means, we could ask the grower himself just where and how this animal was raised.

Our farmers market is small, consisting of about 15 tables with the usual items of green beans, spinach, kale, carrots and potatoes, but the 2 items we most excited about were grass fed beef and duck eggs. The farmer who sells the grass fed beef, which I guess would be called a rancher and not a farmer, is there to answer any questions about the diet and living conditions of the animals.  Plus, he is the one who processes the animals, so that way if you have any questions on what cut of meat to buy or how to prepare he is able to answer your questions. He doesn’t just sell beef; you can order whole chickens or pigs or any cut of those 2 animals you would like, as well as honey and milk. The best part is that you can call in an order and drive to his farm to pick up your order and see the animals in open pasture and chicken’s running free.

As my wife and I were walking along we came across a table that was selling eggs of all kinds. All the eggs were free range! As I was inquiring about a dozen chicken eggs my wife noticed that they were selling duck eggs as well. Having always wanted to try duck eggs we purchased a dozen. They are hands down the best eggs I have ever eaten! They seem to be much richer and more fulfilling than chicken eggs.

Do you shop at a farmers market? If so what do you purchase and why?

We finally put up a facebook page, so be sure to friend us on facebook.

Kevin

6 responses to this post.

  1. “To me there is something truly fulfilling about meat that no amount of legumes, nuts or tofu could ever fill.’ Haha! Made me laugh.

    I totally understand what you mean regarding pricey organic meats. My partner and I have been following an organic diet since the start of 2012 and have switched to organic meat. I have though found that we use a lot less meat per pound of food than pre 2012. The corn fed chicken we now eat tastes a lot different, very ‘strong’ (excuse my lack of articulation) and as a result we need less…

    Good luck mate

    Reply

  2. Our farmer’s market doesn’t have eggs or meat. And the farmers live in another state. 😦 We buy fruits and veggies.

    Reply

  3. This sounds just like my husband – he feels the same way about having meat with every meal!

    We have been slowly transitioning to all or mostly organic foods…we started with organic milk and eggs, since my husband eats and drinks so much of those two foods. Now we’re making an effort to choose organic meats whenever we have the opportunity!

    I’m definitely going to make a visit to our local farmer’s market to see if I can find some locally raised and butchered meats…thanks for the tip!

    Reply

    • If you cant find a farmers market that sells meat, google local farms you will be suprised to find just how many farms have co-ops or somthing along those lines. I have been reading your workout and diet schedule sounds gruling good luck!

      Reply

    • If you cant find a farmers market that sells meat, google local farms you will be suprised to find just how many farms have co-ops or somthing along those lines. I have been reading your workout and diet schedule sounds gruling good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

